© 2019 by Vibrant Designs. Proudly created with Wix.com

BOOK REVIEWS

HERE IS WHERE REVIEWS ARE POSTED!

CLICK HERE for the most recent review!

Lynda. ★★★★

Posted 12/26/19

 

This is my first book by H M Gooden. It is part of a series. I haven’t read the first 5 books, but this book is great. Zahara is on a quest on the other side of the world. This story kept my attention and I will definitely be reading more books by this author. I am honestly and voluntarily leaving a review for Amazon.

Tamara D. ★★★★

Posted 1/3/20

I enjoyed this book, I am part of a reading group, and was given this book by the author.

This book has a wonderful storyline, I enjoyed the Supernatural side of the story. "His talent" is quite impressive! (I won't say more, or else I will spoil the surprise!)

I really enjoyed the fact that the woman of this story was given such an amazing talent, and revered for it. The fact that the hero of the story gives her credit for her mind and her thinking is a wonderful way to portray respect. I think that any woman that had admiration of a man like that would fall head over heels for such a man.

I was unimpressed by the editing of this book. There are far too many grammatical errors for my liking.

Pat D. ★★★★★

1/6/20

 

I received the ARC for an honest review. The fight for the kingdoms has twists and turns as treachery maneuvers throughout the storyline. What is going to happen now? Will the "lost prince" ever win his land back, & which lass will become his queen as he has to use every bit of his intelligence & assassin training to stay a step ahead of the circle. Cant wait for the next book to be available.

Billie w. ★★★★★

1/8/20

 

On New Year's Eve, Cole is waiting outside a party for his wife to leave with her current lover.
Cole's resolution is to make sure his wife sticks to her marriage vows. Since he agreed to love her til death do them part, why couldn't she? His only goal is to make those words come true.
The things he wants to do to his wife and her lover are unspeakable.
This is a violent book. There is a ton of blood. If you can't handle a few chapters of descriptive gore, then this book is not for you. Maybe I should add triggers, but instead let's just call it EXTREME HORROR.

What a brilliant horror novel this is!! I love this authors writing!!
Wonderful well written plot and story line that had me engaged from the start.
Love the well fleshed out characters and found them believeable.
Great suspense and action with wonderful world building that adds so much to the story.
Love the gore and the whole black humor as I call it.
I can't wait to see what the author brings us next!!!
Recommend reading.

I read a complimentary advance copy of the book; this is my voluntary and honest review.

Kiyomi. ★★★

Posted 1/9/20

 

The story is short and fast paced. It is also advertised as such so I knew that from the start (which was good).

I did like the idea of the story but think it is a shame that it could not have been longer because you don't really get to know the characters and I think to much time was spent on the daily activities of the h rather than the world building or interaction between h and H. The H actually came off as a bit of a bully in the beginning. 

Because the story was so short and fast the hook-up in the end between h and H did not seem very believable. So I would give this story 3 starts and might try some of this authors longer omega stories.

liz e. ★★★

Posted 1/9/20

 

** spoiler alert ** Omega Suppressed is an 18+ story that contains a lot of sexual talk, an attempted sexual assault, and an explicit sex scene.
I can tell this is an interesting world that Leann Ryans has created. I am new to it and don't know all the ins and outs. I wanted more information about why the omegas were so sought after. What are these people? Shifters? Aliens? What makes a person an alpha, beta, or omega. With this being a standalone it needed more exposition.
I was really angry at the main male character, Luke, almost the whole story. Telling Shai that she needs to just let her body do what it's supposed to and let an alpha claim her sounded a lot like he was advocating rape. But somehow that's ok because that's what omegas are for. Having Shai suddenly go into heat while she's by Luke and begging him to claim her seemed so against character that it lost me. It was like everything she was fighting for just got chucked out the window. Overall I was dissatisfied with this story. It could be better with some reworking

Liz e. ★

Posted 1/9/20

 

Wow. There's a disclaimer at the beginning of the book that states the story is gross and immature. That is highly accurate. I would also add disturbing. It weirded me out more than HP Minecraft. I have it one start because I have to wonder at the mental state of the author to come up with such disgusting visuals.

jvles. ★★★

Gchat M. ★★★★★

Posted 1/16/20

If you think it's all about music, there is the conspiracy.

A 'disastrously-hopeful darkly-comical' read.

Trina H. ★★★★★

Posted 1/20/20

I'm a big huge giant fan of all things supernatural/paranormal, and this book did not fail me! I especially like that rather than being one ghost story, or even multiple stories in one location, there are multiple stories taking place in multiple locations!

I'm not easily scared, so I was frightened by these stories, but I was intrigued, and I did spend most of my reading time on the edge of my seat.

Lynda. ★★★★

Posted 1/21/20

 

This was my first time reading omegaverse with a strong omega heroine lead. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I am honestly and voluntarily leaving a review for Amazon

Denise o. ★★★

Posted 1/21/20

 

So I haven't read anything from this author so maybe I am just not into her style of writing but I just could not get into this book. I thought it was a slow read and I had a hard time staying focused on reading the book.

Debbie G. ★★★★

Posted 1/23/20

 

A good omegaverse quick read. Very enjoyable and entertaining. I would have liked to see more details. But I felt this book deserves 4 stars. It has an excellent storyline and definitely will keep you interested. A definite page turner. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading romance with strong willed women.
I voluntarily read and reviewed this book and this is an honest review.

Tamara d. ★★★★

Posted 1/26/20 (SPOILER ALERT)

 

I am happy to have read this book for the author. I was given a free copy for my review, but I have not been influenced in my rating in any way.

A lot of the time, I find Alpha/Omega based books rather cheezy, but this one happily for me does not fit that description.

Animalistic behavior usually follows the whole the strong male has the pick of the female he most desires, and she really doesn't have a choice. Here, the female is doing everything in her power to allow her to choose for herself, not only for her, but for her fellow omegas as well. Taking on an older, violent alpha shows the reader the depth of her desire to initiate fundamental change in their community.

I enjoyed this book, and it flowed very well and was easy to read.

Like ∙ flag

Mari s. ★★★

Posted 1/26/20

 

This is the second book of the Candy Savant Series but can be read as a stand-alone novel. I haven’t read the first one; actually I didn’t know there was a previous one but I enjoyed reading this one. This is the first book I read of this author and now I am curious to read book one of the series.

The book is about the all-female society of Arkite in the year 2244. Savant Elise Jackson who is Arkite’s supreme leader has spent two years along with her assistant Sara, genetically engineering to repair body and mind of her lost love Candice (Candy); Viceroy of Pyramid City and her followers in the Savant Council don’t think they should be wasting time and resources for Elise’s personal desires. Elise succeeds reviving her lover but now she’ll have to fight and win her love from Sara, who also loves Candy with all her heart. If this isn’t enough, there’s also a revolution brewing; some trying to relieve her from the position, others to maintain her. What will happen when the artificial intelligence mainframe is also helping the members of the Savant Council that are against her?

It is a very interesting book, I was compelled by the fact it is an all-female society. They’re human though, meaning there is a lot of jealousy, contempt and power plays. Kept me reading page after page, wanting to know what was going to happen. There is a lot of action, the plot is well developed and the characters are of interest.

There are some things I disagree about how they do things and their reasons but are part of the story goals. Some may think is a little too much of human nature at its worst. But works for the development of the plot. Sometimes I got a bit tired of the foul language but it’s also part of the characters, at least some of them. Either way, I couldn’t stop reading.

The characters are intriguing, all of them complex but not all alluring. Elise is very self-centred and even despicable; however is fascinating to read how her Machiavellian mind works, even when you disagree with her. I liked Candice but I was hoping she had chosen a different path, I still wonder why she played along with Elise’s power game. Then there is Sara, I feel for her, I think she deserves better.

In general, I liked the book, is a very entertaining one; page-turning undoubtedly. Despite I am not happy about the way the book ends, it was a good one. Maybe there is book three and things will change to where I was hoping for. I recommend it if you don’t mind a bit of deceit and treason. Consider there is love.

3.5 stars

I received an ARC copy of this book and voluntarily leaving a review.

Abigail s. ★★★★★

Posted 1/29/20

I was very sceptical to read a fantasy type book as I usually read romance. But from the onset I was captivated by the tale of Kaia and Klaus and the story unfolding about the heirs.

It is amazing how Hayley Reece Chow manages to mesmerize you from page 1 and every fact you read ties in till the very last page. Nothing is said by chance.

I can absolutely relate to the character of Kaia that is depicted through various stages of adolescences and coming to realize that she is meant to have such a powerful gift. The moments of doubt and bullying the character experienced just made Kaia so much real for me.

The plot of Odriel's Heirs speaks touches on various genres as you experience fantasy, coupled with a love story unfolding and you also have these epic battle scenes for those readers who love such reading.

I am thankful that I was given an opportunity to reach such amazing work and definitely cannot wait to read what lies in store for our heirs.


 

Jack k. ★★★★★

Posted 1/29/20

 

This book is a concise summary (almost a checklist) of how to prepare for an interview. The audience is primarily recent college graduates (although the book would certainly be useful to anyone preparing for an interview for their first serious job, or for returning to the workforce after a period of absence). The main factor that distinguishes this book from similar books is its succinctness. This is a book that one would download a few days before an interview and use as a "study guide" or "checklist" for preparing for the interview.

The book covers three types of interview: face-to-face, phone and video. At a high level, the principles of face-to-face interviewing are timeless, and this book does a fine job of summarizing them. That being said, I personally found the sections on phone and video interviewing more interesting, as these forums are newer, and the techniques are less well-established. As one interesting example, the author suggested renting a room at a hotel in order to make sure the background for a video interview is professional looking. Other interesting comments included some tips on face-to-camera contact, avoiding swivel chairs, and making the same effort to dress for a video interview as you would for a face-to-face interview.

The last two chapters of the book are 1) most common interview questions and 2) most common interview mistakes. These chapters are written in the same concise style as the rest of the book, providing more of an outline than a detailed discussion. That being said, the list was spot-on from my experience - including such key points as knowing the company, not trash-talking your previous company, and the like.

Now, some comments on what the book is NOT. First and foremost, this is NOT a book for someone experienced in the workforce. While it does an excellent job of providing a "study guide" for the individual starting out, it does not touch on any of the complexity of a more senior interview. More specifically, it does not talk about creating interview presentations, it does not address aggressive or hostile questioning, there is no discussion around legal issues (for example, the complexity of interviewing with the competitors of your former company), there is no discussion of strategy for the typical C-level "chat", and so on. This is for someone's first serious job-hunting attempt, not for the experienced professional.

Additionally, this is a short and succinct book. It is NOT a book with scripts, or instructions, or stories of interviews seen by the author, or role-playing examples, or the like. As I mentioned earlier, it basically a "study-guide" or a "checklist".

Emily S. ★★★★

Posted 2/3/20

I took a chance on this book after reading the description. I usually lean towards historical romance but I am glad I decided to dive in. It vividly describes a coastal Delaware town where Clair and her five-year-old son live. She is a recent graduate in wildlife biology and begins to look for work while teaching her young son ways to conserve the ecosystem. She meets a new professor and the attraction while mutual was met with reluctance and distrust. The professor, Brian, was also a wildlife conversationalist and widower. They end up working together to help the local endangered bird population and horseshoe crabs while skirting their attraction. Clair ends up having to learn to trust Brian in a scary and tragic time when her son becomes very ill. I liked that the book had real-life issues, like single parenting, domestic violence, death and having to overcome trauma. It was a good read and I would recommend it. I was given a free copy of the book to read with no expectation of a review.

Aizlynne. ★★★★★

Posted 2/3/20

Well thought out world, though could use a little more explanation of some things (i.e. what the different classification of supernaturals mean) This is an urban fantasy set in our world where supernatural beings are still in hiding. It is also a second chance, slow burn romance. The romance is very sweet. Elijah is very much a paladin type in that he believes in law enforcement whole heartedly and can't imagine a situation where they won't be able to save the day. Freya knows that there are elements of society that the supernatural enforcement will not be able to take down because she grew up under the care of a criminal organization. I really wanted to slap Elijah at times because of his naivete. He is a bounty hunter that is surprisingly clueless about the workings of the black market. I would have thought he'd have more dealings there. Overall, a great first book in a series. Can't wait to see where the story goes next.

Viet t. ★★★★

Posted 2/6/20

 

Well written and kept me reading. Unusual take and it came off well. Well worth reading.

Jack k. ★★★★★

Posted 2/17/20

 

This is a solid, fast-paced, high-fantasy story with a bit of a "Dungeons and Dragons" feel to it. Readers who like fantasy stories with strong female protagonists and a lot of detailed action will enjoy this work. As one specific example, if you liked “The Deed of Paksenarrion” by Elizabeth Moon (in fact, if you liked anything by Elizabeth Moon) you’ve got a good chance of liking this. I rated this as 4.5/5 (solid read, a few rough edges).

Disclaimer before I go on: I received a free digital ARC for this novel. However, both the decision to post a review and the contents of the review are voluntary and my choice alone.

Short summary: The young heroine Kaia is the first-born of an Odriel Dragon Heir, and (as such) has the magical power of making fire. This power is to be used to kill zombies (called the Lost in the story). This power is pivotal in this alternate-world history because the demon necromancer Nifras is evoking the Lost to bring evil to the land. Through a series of adventures (some grim, some less so), including storming a castle, watching her father being killed, being kidnapped by a necromancer, meeting dragons (good ones and bad ones), spelunking through a cave, working with (two) magicians, searching for an enchanted sword, AND playing a major role in two battles; Kaia develops emotional fortitude, resolves a jealousy issue with her twin brother, and develops a lasting friendship/romance with another Odriel Heir.

What I liked the most? The battle scenes and the training scenarios are detailed and well-developed. There is a very strong sense of realism to both. Not only are detailed actions (kicks, lunges, etc.) described; but Kaia gets tired, she drips sweat, and she loses strength to the point she can’t make fire. This is VERY refreshing in comparison to many novels in this genre, which often seem to have the hero/heroine swinging a sword effortlessly for scene after scene! In the same vein, descriptions of training sequences are FAR more detailed and realistic than is typical for the genre. (In a generally serious adventure story, there is even a brief interlude of some amusing fight scenes in Chapter 5, where Kaia barrels her way through a set of inept guards.)

This story is really fast-paced: This story is a complex trilogy packaged in a single volume. The pace is fast, the style is swift, and the story just gallops right along. As a positive feature, the reader is unlikely to get bored! As a negative feature, it is unusually easy to fall behind or get lost. This book falls into the category of a book that is read once to figure out what is going on, and then flipped over and read a second time to immediately thereafter to understand the details.

Many characters and late introduction of some key characters: There are a lot of characters in this story, and they come at the reader fast. (The first two chapters introduce 18 significant characters, for example.) Additionally, some of these characters have several names/titles (for example, Kaia’s father, Tam, is the Guardian Dashul). Furthermore, there is significant late introduction of key “good guy” characters (for example, the Maldibor in Chapter 7, and the magnus Dorinar in Chapter 18). If the reader isn’t extremely attentive, it is possible to “lose sight of the ball” and be attributing actions and thoughts to the wrong character.

What I struggled with the most in the storyline: Kaia is bullied in one way or another throughout a good fraction of the book. Some of this was justifiable (being bullied as child for being younger, being exiled by her village for burning a child as a child, etc.). Some of this was (unfortunately) consistent with real life (being treated negatively by "villagers" after saving their "village" is a painful real-world experience experienced by many military and police). HOWEVER, after some point, it seemed too much. Bullies go after the weak. Keep in mind that this young women was trained as a fighter and can shoot fireballs from her finger-tips. Bullying her would seem akin to bullying a velociraptor!

What I also struggled with (yes, this is somewhat the reverse of the above point, but bear with me): There are a set of scenes around the kidnapping of Kaia from Summerbanks (which are an attempt by Lord Conrad and Valente to suborn Kaia through seduction). At this point in the story, Kaia is portrayed as having a significant self-esteem issue. If we take as given that Kaia does have a self-esteem problem (justified or not, see the previous point about bullying a velociraptor) it would seem that Valente would have been MUCH more successful in his machinations to suborn Kaia by pushing on her self-esteem issues. She breaks free really fast (WAY too fast in my mind). It would have been much more realistic for Kaia to get far more deeply mired in this manipulation before breaking free.

Other smaller things that I struggled with: Everybody’s going to pile on me for this, but I didn’t like Gus (the dog). First, his presence reminded me too much of “Disney Princess” stories that always include an animal companion (Kaia is many things, but a "Disney Princess" is probably not one of them). Second, I found his “puppyish” nature to be dissonant (either this is a military working dog, thus shouldn’t act like a puppy; or this is a pet, thus shouldn’t be a core part of a storyline with this much action). Last, but certainly not least, Gus was portrayed in the beginning of the book as an essential companion for a Dragon Heir (to break them out of the rage of fire). HOWEVER, in the last and most significant battle, Kaia must leave Gus behind, so he wouldn’t get hurt.

Tamara d. ★★★

Posted 2/17/20

 

James Bond was never a genre that captured my attention. This was a decent enough book, I simply didn't get into it like I do other books, so it took me a long time to read.

If you like spy books, please take this as my thumbs up, if you don't, well... the choice is yours.

The main character is well developed, and the supporting character has good charisma.

Thank you goes out to the author, I have read this book and agreed to write a review for her through an online site.

Gchat M. ★★★★

Posted 2/17/20

 

Glimpses into life in Alaska. The story about the bear and the seal hunting are interesting. The reader is allowed to enjoy the narrative, without much comment or judgment by the author.

 

ANIE c. ★★★

Posted 2/18/20

 

The idea is good, but I’m not sold on the execution. I was left with a lot of questions, and don’t feel satisfied with the ending. It feels a bit like the author took an idea from one book, a character from that movie, and kinda tried to smoosh them together to get the idea across. The history of the world isn’t really explored, and while I can understand what they were going for, I don’t feel involved in it. It was rough to get into the book, to be completely honest. Now, I’m not saying it’s a completely terrible book. It just needs a bit more oomph. One thing that never quite clicked to me how the system came to be after the collapse. I never quite grasped the hierarchy that came out of the system. They were trying to make non-personal families, and then I just lose the story line in random details that don’t seem to add to the story. I love the idea, dear author, but I think it should be rehashed a few times to flesh out the story a bit more. It seems a bit flat. I absolutely believe this has the potential to be great, and get across anything you are trying to say. I just don’t think it is quite there.

Aron L. ★★★★★

Posted 10/2/19

 

I had recently taken a nasty fall in the basement, and I needed something to entertain me while I was resting in bed. This story fit the bill. It read like a Game of Thrones lite, with interesting characters, twists, and a tale that sucks you in. The author has a pretty good grasp on world-building and it was easy to imagine the fantasy setting.

Readers take note: The ending definitely leaves it open for a series. Also, be prepared for blood and headless corpses and the like.

Tamara D. ★★★★

Posted 10/2/19

This is an Aladdan style book, with mythology brought in. I enjoyed the way that the author empowered the heroines of this book. The women are strong, independent, and make a colorful group to follow on a journey.

I enjoyed this book.

Travis P. ★★★★★

Posted 10/2/19

 

This is an interesting read. Michael, the main character, is a young man going through a lot of guilt over the death of his father. Michael was involved in an accident that resulted in the death of his father. Michael's mother decides Michael should go visit his grandparents. Everything seems normal until he gets to the town out in the middle of nowhere. The town is under control of a religious cult. No internet. No cell phones. People driving around in white vans constantly watching. Michael is told not to go outside at night because of monsters that roam the town. Michael has a childhood friend named Rebecca that lives in the town. Rebecca's mother gets taken by the monsters and Michael and Rebecca do everything they can to get Rebecca's mother back. There is definitely a Koontz feel about the story. There are a lot of gross scenes, especially the second half of the book, but no nudity. Michael does contemplate suicide early in the story and the cult is a religious cult so religion is discussed so if that's something you can't handle you have been warned. The ending suggests a sequel. The title also suggests a sequel.

Gchat m. ★★★★★

Posted 10/3/19

 

The memoir evokes strong nostalgia. The mystery unfolds at a deliciously slow pace.

Enchanting read.

Heather B. ★★★★★

Posted 10/7/19

 

Really great book. Had me drawn in from the beginning and kept me interested throughout. The story is very well written and characters are well developed. I’m looking forward to reading more from this author. I highly recommend reading. (I received this book as an arc and am leaving a voluntary honest review)

Jane L. ★★★

Posted 10/8/19

I thought that it was an interesting book that would appeal to a very young ( 12-16 ) demographic. There wasn’t really much of a plot, and there was little to none character development. I feel that if some of the spelling and grammar errors were fixed it would be a much more enjoyable book.

Jules. ★★★★

Posted 10/10/19

 

I liked this book. It follows a princess who gets abducted, manages to escape and finds lots of friends ans mythical creatures along the way. I liked that there are so many strong female characters and will definitely read the next books in this series.

Tamara D. ★★★★★

Posted 10/10/19

 

What Heals the Heart by Karen A. Wyle is a heart-warming, entertaining, well-researched tale of a young doctor, a matchmaking Jewish widow and a courageous woman with a secret of her own. The story unfolds in Nebraska after the Civil War, following Joshua, the doctor, as he struggles to rebuild his life while suffering from traumatic, horrific memories of battlefield surgeries and primitive medical care. This book is not only a wonderful story from America's past, but a great read. Enjoy!

Tamara D. ★★★

Posted 10/11/19

 

The sensuality of the prose right from the start grabs you and entices you to follow. The poetry thrown in is thought provoking, and wonderful. I could only dream to write like that!

I was left wanting though, with a 12 year gap that was barely touched upon. I am sure there is an amazing story within the spaces that would have enjoyed being told, and that the readers would have enjoyed. I'm used to, and enjoy reading books that have 20+ chapters, and in my opinion, the more the merrier! The more chapters, the more you get to engross yourself in the lives of the characters.

I was not expecting the turn at the end, so that was good.

Elsa H. ★★★★★

Posted 10/16/19

 

Sex, drugs, more drugs, and good music - that was the way of life in the late 60's, early 70's. I almost drooled just at the bands mentioned here!
But Laila and her friends (I use that term very loosely) had me giggling and horrified at the same time. There is one instance, in the dark attic room, where I could not stop laughing. If you don't read this book for anything else, please read it for that scene.

So, sex, drugs and rock and roll - all good at the time and for most it was just a drug induced past. However....when old uni mate Denise commits suicide, she leaves behind a note. And the creepy crawlies suddenly start popping out of the woodwork everywhere. Even in places where Laila thought she was perfectly safe.

Well written, hilarious, with an undertone of mystery that will keep you reading. The characters are brilliant. I think Johnny Depp would be a good choice for Ben, actually...

I received a copy of this book from Vibe Reviews and try to review every book I read.

Aizlynne ★★★★

Posted 10/18/19 - SPOILER ALERT

 

I didn't know the level of steam I was getting into with this book. It's high. This is definitely an adult romance. That being said, the story line was quite original. I haven't read anything with a similar magic system and found it quite enjoyable. The relationship between the main characters is believable, which I find hard to achieve with love at first sight/fated mates romances. What was surprising was that the antagonist became a sympathetic character fairly early in the plot and I found myself cheering him on. Overall, it was very entertaining, though steamer than I prefer.

Lynda A. ★★★★★

Posted 10/24/19  

 

I absolutely loved this book. The author beautifully weaved a story about a child with special needs. Add in a love story between Greg and Georgia who have instant chemistry. I am voluntarily leaving a review for Amazon

Gchat M. ★★★★★

Posted 10/28/19  

 

Alex wakes up to the fact that she is a zombie and her parents are missing. Luckily, she has Sam, her best friend, to help her out. Will the teenage detectives find the missing parents and solve the zombification mystery. A 'happy halloween' read.

Billie W. ★★★★★

Posted 11/2/19  

 

When Alex wakes up after the worst food hangover of her life to find out she's dead, the spinach truly hits the fan.
With the help of her best friend, Sam, the two must discover why her Halloween costume is more authentic than she'd like this year, not to mention trying to figure out why the heck her parents have disappeared.
The clock is ticking.
Because if she doesn't find the answers soon, this Halloween will be her last.

This was most definitely the funniest zombie story I have read!
Very funny plot and story line.
Engaging and fun characters.
Really enjoyable and different halloween tale!
Quick read and highly recommend reading!!

I read a complimentary advance copy of the book; this is my voluntary and honest review.

Debbie G. ★★★★★

Posted 11/6/19  

 

Greg is the parent of a severely autistic little girl name Deidre. He is also a widower and the owner of a successful gym. Although he is extremely handsome, he is not interested in falling in love again or marriage. The loss of his wife was devastating and his hands are full with his little girl and his work. But then a chance meeting with a young woman (Georgia) hits him like a ton of bricks. He hasn't had this kind of chemistry since his wife. But unfortunately their meeting was not on a good note and Georgia is not interested in "hooking up." She knows how men are. She is annoyed that she has this kind of attraction to someone. She just needs to work her two jobs and make enough money to pay her bills and eat. The last thing she needs is a man. So why can't she get Greg out of her head. This was an incredibly well written, beautiful story. Two people just existing every day. Can they find a way to support each other's needs? I whole heartedly recommend this book. Certainly deserves five stars plus.
I voluntarily read and reviewed this book and this is an honest review.

Lynda A. ★★★★

Posted 11/6/19  

 

Can two complete opposites make a relationship work? Ryan works hard to prove to Lucy that he is a mature adult worthy of her love and can fit into her sophisticated world. I am voluntarily leaving a review for Amazon.

Shweta A. ★★★★★

Posted 11/7/19  

 

What starts out as a retelling of Alice in Wonderland, quickly turns into a thrilling adventure.

With a very different yet distinctive writing style, this book will appeal to not only young adults but to fans of paranormal genre too. What I really loved about the book was that though it was divided into 3 plots, each one was connected very beautifully and flawlessly. The plot lines were easy to follow and a pleasure to read.

I intend to continue reading the series.

I am reviewing this book out of choice.

Gchat M. ★★★★

Posted 11/7/19  

 

Ryan is a 21 year old hockey star. Lucy is a 30 year old respectable lawyer. While he enjoys not being treated like a celebrity by her, she finds him physically attractive. They have already had a passionate fling in a cabin near the lake up north. But can the relationship continue in Detroit city, where the contrast in their lifestyles is more obvious.

A easy-going mildly-erotic adult romance.

Tamara D. ★★★★

Posted 11/7/19  

 

A book that effects our status quo about professional athletes. An athlete who cares so much about his team, their performance and the outcome of the season tries to get his head on straight and meets a lawyer almost 10 years older then himself. He's a passionate, feeling type man who has his feelings hurt easily.

This lawyer happens to have a smoking hot body and also be friends with this star athlete. Unfortunately, the lawyer also is affected by stereotypes and the perceptions of others when making decisions about her personal life.

Sex drives both of these characters, but they have no communication between them about the relationship, so we get to know the inner thoughts and feelings and worries they have.

This is an enjoyable reading experience.

Kristin y. ★★★★

Posted 11/7/19  

 

Wow-I, really, enjoyed this book. I should mention, that I haven’t read any of the other books in the series, nor any by this author, before. I went into it, slightly concerned it would be a typical, formulaic romance and it, pleasantly, surprised me! Ms. Redford kept it moving at a good pace, while keeping it heartfelt( and hot). I read long into the night(& early morning) because I wanted to see how things would play out. A quick overview: a lawyer who is acquaintances with a younger professional hockey player ends up running into him in a secluded cabin area while he’s recovering from his hockey season. They both start to see each other differently and develop amazing chemistry. (The tension was palpable!) Then, they have to come back to their city, everyday lives, friends, etc. and decide if they'll continue seeing each other and how that will happen or if it should happen. The main characters were interesting and she addressed the whole age-discrepancy in a relationship, in a way that spoke more to maturity/life phase vs. stressing the number gap, as many books with a woman older than the love interest do. There was, also, the issue of one being a public sports figure, while the other was in a field dominated by “book smarts”. I found the characters’ thoughts to be believable and honest. The story was emotional, but, not sappy. The end wrapped up a little, too, rapidly, for me-I would’ve liked more insight into the characters’ experiences with how things were between them, at the conclusion of the book. How they addressed some of the previously mentioned issues. Still, it was an enjoyable read and I’ll be looking at the previous books in the series!

Julie W. ★★★★

Posted 11/11/19  

 

This was a fun read. A new view on the zombie trope. I was laughing so much, when the main character devoured her veggies! Don't expect anything scary. But if you like zombies, read this novella.

Jennifer P. ★★★★

Posted 11/12/19  

 

I was given a copy for an honest review. I wish I could rate this in different parts. Base story is a 4 although it seems to end abruptly and leave parts hanging. Cora is definitely vicious. She's also all over the place, hard to figure out what her personality is. If you don't like colorful language and very adult situations then it may not be for you. I am very conflicted on this one.

Christina B. ★★★★

Posted 11/16/19  

 

I enjoy reading books about the Gods/Immortals interacting with humans. And this one did not disappoint. Cora also known as Persephone has suffered much in her long existence. All she wants is to be cared for. With lots of twists and turns, Cora finally gets her wish. I voluntarily read this book in exchange for my honest opinion.

Trina H. ★★★

Posted 11/27/19  

 

Once I got over the overly-descriptive descriptions, I liked this story quite a bit. As promised, it IS a roller coaster ride, and quite the fun one!

Narvix is a hilarious protagonist who finds himself like the proverbial fish out of water, making for a very entertaining read. Reading about him trying to tackle everything that came his way had me in stitches! And his costars were fun, as well. I really don't think there were any characters that were a waste of ink - pixels? - like they are in some books I've read.

As entertaining as the story was, the tome still has some issues. As others have mentioned, the descriptions are just way too in-depth, and I found myself grazing over them time and again. Also - and this was even more irritating for me - this book is in a major need of editing. Name an error, and this book has it; missing or extra words, punctuation issues, misspellings, problems with homophones and homonyms were all noted. If Maxwell got an editor who's not afraid to pull out the red pen - font? - this tale could easily be a 5-star yarn.

al P. ★★★★

Posted 12/10/19  

 

Cora is one of the most interesting takes of all the recent genre based upon Greek mythology. If you can get past the language, sexual situations and violence, you will find one of the most unique recounting of Persephone that you will ever read. Her character in this story would not be possible without all of those potential offensive scenes because it further develops how her sad past has made her into what is left of her today.

Christi G. ★★★★

Posted 12/18/19 

 

The Melody of Three was not a quick read for me. It took me a while to get into the rhythm, especially in the parts devoted to Rein. Aside from that, I enjoyed it. It has humor, epic adventure, a good story and some nice plot twists. I must confess, Higgins had me very intrigued. This is one of those books that I will be reading again in order to savor the little nuances.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon